The annual Champions of the Earth prize is awarded to outstanding leaders from government, civil society and the private sector whose actions have had a positive impact on the environment.

The Champions of the Earth award began 12 years ago and is the United Nations' highest environmental honour recognizing visionary people and organisations all over the world that exemplify leadership and advocate action on sustainable development, climate change and a life of dignity for all.

Past winners in the fields of policy, science, entrepreneurship, and civil society action include Paul Polman, Sylvia Earle, Mario Molina, Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, Felipe Calderon, Al Gore, Angelique Kidjo and the National Geographic Society.

In that time UN Environment has recognized 78 laureates in the following categories:

  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Policy Leadership
  • Action and Inspiration
  • Entrepreneurial Vision
  • Science and Innovation