Nominate a Champion

Thank you for your participation in the 2019 nomination process

TThe Champions of the Earth nomination period closed on 5 May 2019.

The Champions of the Earth award is the United Nations’ highest environmental honour. It is conferred to individuals or organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the protection and restoration of the environment. Click here to read more on past Champions of the Earth.

There are four distinct categories:

  • Policy leadership
  • Inspiration and action
  • Entrepreneurial vision
  • Science and innovation

2019 marks the first year in which a global jury comprising of various high-profile individuals from different United Nations agencies and international organizations has been convened to review nominations and reward Champions in each of the four categories.

Awards are conferred annually by the UN Environment Programme Executive Director. This year’s award ceremony will take place during the United Nations General Assembly in New York on 26 September.

Nominate a Champion

Nominations have now closed