Regional Ozone Network for Europe and Central Asia

The Regional Ozone Network for Europe & Central Asia (ECA network) includes 11 developing countries which spread from Central Asia and Caucasus to the Balkans: Albania, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia FYR, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey and Turkmenistan.

The operational languages of the ECA network are English and Russian. Several former network countries have already acceded to the European Union e.g. Croatia in 2013. Albania, Macedonia FYR, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey are candidate countries. Armenia and Kyrgyzstan joined the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) between Belarus, Kazakhstan and the Russian Federation in 2015. Neighboring countries include major trade partners such as China and the European Union, countries with economies in transition (CEIT countries) as well as Afghanistan, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, and the Syrian Arab Republic.

The ECA network has evolved into a multi-stakeholder network involving a wide range of national and international stakeholders. All of them have contributed to meeting the Montreal Protocol targets. We congratulate and thank the high-level Government officials and their national ozone teams, customs and other enforcement officers, refrigeration and air-conditioning experts, private companies, academia, vocational schools, non-governmental organizations, media and the general public for the tremendous efforts and contributions.

Our special thanks are extended to the resource persons from the Ozone Secretariat, the Multilateral Fund Secretariat, the implementing agencies and bilateral partners, our technical and policy experts from inside and outside the Montreal Protocol community as well as cooperating organizations . All of them contributed their knowledge and shared their experiences often at their own costs and using their private time. We are also very grateful to UNDP and UNIDO who facilitated the participation of the CEIT countries in relevant activities.

In 2018, the ECA network celebrates its 15th anniversary.