Projects and Services

In its role as an Implementing Agency of the Multilateral Fund, UN Environment assists developing countries through a combination of compliance assistance services and national, regional and global projects.


UN Environment’s primary role is to assist Article 5 countries in actual or potential non-compliance to be in compliance with their obligations under this multilateral environmental agreement (MEA). The Compliance Assistance Programme (CAP) cooperates closely with the Ozone Secretariat, the Multilateral Fund Secretariat, and other Implementing Agency partners to identify countries that have difficulties in maintaining compliance or are at risk of being in non-compliance, with particular reference paid to countries in post-conflict situations. The Regional CAP staff provide direct assistance to National Ozone Officers and other priority stakeholders in response to specific needs identified by Article 5 countries. This assistance covers a wide range of topics including policies and enforcement, technical issues, assistance with data reporting, capacity building of new Ozone Officers, support for ratification, etc. In 2017, UN Environment will provide 1,062 country-specific compliance services.


UN Environment offers developing countries assistance with the preparation and implementation of HCFC Phase out Management Plans (HPMPs) for both Stages I and II, Institutional Strengthening projects, and technical assistance. The agency also implements national HPMP verification projects as and when requested by the Executive Committee. This assistance also includes the project development, monitoring, coordination and reporting duties required of all Implementing Agencies.

Under the approved three-year rolling Business Plan for its Montreal Protocol-related activities covering the years 2017-2019, UN Environment will deliver the following projects:

  • HPMP project preparation and implementation. UN Environment is assisting 73 countries with Stage II preparation in accordance with Executive Committee policies and guidelines. UN Environment will also assist countries with the implementation of the non-investment components of the HPMPs (both Stages I and II), in cooperation with other Implementing Agencies and bilateral agencies. In total, during this Business Plan cycle, UN Environment will be the HPMP Lead Agency for 72 countries and Cooperating Agency for 30 countries. Our agency will also prepare a regional project for the Pacific Island Countries for their Stage II HPMP.
  • Institutional Strengthening (IS) projects. UN Environment provides 104 countries with ongoing technical assistance and administrative support for the implementation of their IS projects, including the submission of IS renewals and assistance with activities covered by these projects. UN Environment will submit such projects as per the appropriate timing and when all the necessary pre-conditions have been met (e.g. disbursal rate, reporting obligations). This service is performed as part of CAP services.
  • ODS alternative surveys. UN Environment assisted 78 countries with the preparation of their ODS alternative suveys.

In addition to these projects, UN Environment continues to assist several bilateral agencies with the implementation of their Multilateral Fund projects through CAP and also engages in select partnerships for Montreal Protocol objectives complementary to the Multilateral Fund.


HPMP projects

The countries for which UN Environment support the HPMP projects as the Lead Agency are:

Afghanistan Eritrea Nicaragua
Antigua and Barbuda Ethiopia Niue
Bahamas Gabon Palau
Bahrain Gambia Paraguay
Barbados Grenada Philippines
Belize Guinea Rwanda
Benin Guinea Bissau Saint Kitts and Nevis
Bhutan Guyana Saint Lucia
Botswana Haiti Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Brunei Darussalam Iraq Samoa
Burkina Faso Kiribati Sao Tome and Principe
Burundi Kuwait Sierra Leone
Cambodia Lao, PDR Solomon Islands
Cape Verde Madagascar Suriname
Central African Republic Malawi Swaziland
Chad Maldives Tanzania
Comoros Mali Timor Leste
Congo Marshall Islands Togo
Congo, DR Micronesia Tonga
Cook Islands Mongolia Tuvalu
Côte d’Ivoire Mozambique Uganda
Djibouti Myanmar Vanuatu
Dominica Nauru Yemen
Equatorial Guinea Nepal Zambia


IS projects

The countries for which UN Environment support the Institutional Strengthening projects are:

Afghanistan Fiji Nepal
Albania Gabon Nicaragua
Algeria Gambia Niger
Angola Grenada Niue
Antigua and Barbuda Guatemala Palau
Bahamas Guinea Paraguay
Bahrain Guinea-Bissau Peru
Barbados Guyana Philippines
Belize Haiti Rwanda
Benin Honduras Saint Kitts and Nevis
Bhutan Iraq Saint Lucia
Bolivia Jamaica Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Botswana Kenya Samoa
Brunei Darussalam Kiribati Sao Tome and Principe
Burkina Faso Korea DPR Saudi Arabia
Burundi Kuwait Senegal
Cambodia Kyrgyzstan Seychelles
Cameroon Lao PDR Sierra Leone
Cape Verde Lesotho Solomon Islands
Central African Republic Liberia Somalia
Chad Madagascar South Sudan
Comoros Malawi Sudan
Congo Maldives Suriname
Congo DR Mali Swaziland
Cook Islands Marshall Islands Tanzania
Cote d'Ivoire Mauritania Timor-Leste
Croatia Mauritius Togo
Djibouti Micronesia, Federated States of Tonga
Dominica Moldova, Republic of Tuvalu
Dominican Republic Mongolia Uganda
Ecuador Morocco Vanuatu
El Salvador (included in HPMP) Mozambique Vietnam
Equatorial Guinea Myanmar Yemen
Eritrea Namibia Zambia
Ethiopia Nauru Zimbabwe


ODS alternatives survey projects

The countries for which UN Environment support the survey projects are:

Afghanistan DR Congo Madagascar Seychelles
Angola Equatorial Guinea Malawi Sierra Leone
Armenia Eritrea Maldives Solomon Islands
Bahrain Ethiopia Mali Sri Lanka
Barbados Gabon Marshall Islands St Lucia
Belize Gambia Micronesia Sudan (joint with UNIDO) 
Benin Ghana Mongolia Suriname
Bhutan Grenada Mozambique Swaziland
Botswana Guinea Namibia Tanzania
Brunei Darussalam Guinea Bissau Nauru Timor-Leste
Burkina Faso Guyana Nepal Togo
Burundi Iraq Nigeria Tonga
Cambodia Jamaica Niue Trinidad & Tobago
Cape Verde Kenya Pakistan Turkmenistan
Chad Kiribati Palau Tuvalu
Comoros Kuwait Rwanda Vanuatu
Congo Kyrgyzstan Samoa Zambia
Cook Islands Lao PDR Sao Tome& Principe Zimbabwe
Cote d'Ivoire Lesotho Saudi Arabia  
Djibouti Liberia Senegal