Selection process

The selection process has three rounds.

  1. The open call for applications will run until 31 March 2019. Each applicant will be required to submit responses to a series of questions and upload a referee’s letter of endorsement.

  2. Finalists—drawn from every world region—will be short-listed by UN experts and requested to submit short videos pitching their big ideas.

  3. In the final stage, a Global Jury will review the World Finalists’ big ideas and choose seven Young Champions of the Earth. The winners will be publicly announced and invited to attend the Champions of the Earth Award Ceremony.

The winners will be expected to implement their big ideas and act as ambassadors of cause at speaking opportunities, while providing regular progress updates in the form of videos and blogs that will be shared on this website.


Are you ready to rise up?

If you have a bright vision for the future of our planet, perhaps you could become a Young Champion of the Earth!


Frequently Asked Questions

Entry and Submission

What is meant by a “big idea”?

Albert Einstein famously stated: “We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” That is why solutions to the most pressing environmental challenges are likely to come from young people. Your fresh thinking and creative energy gives you an edge over older generations.

How to apply

How can I submit my application?

You can submit your application until 31 March 2019 via the application portal on this website. You will need to identify a referee who can vouch for the viability of your idea and for you as an individual. Once you submit your application, no further edits or changes will be possible.


How many competitors are there?

We anticipate receiving thousands of applications in the first round, from which regional finalists will be short-listed including from each of Africa, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, North America and West Asia. The regional finalists will be judged by a Global Jury, from which seven Young Champions of the Earth, representing each global region, will be selected.